Running in the Rain for Sherry

This morning, even though it was a Saturday, I woke my boys at 7AM so we could head to the trail with Tippy. It was time to run in tribute to Sherry Arnold, the Montana mother who didn’t return from her run last month (see previous blog post).

Print Your Bib for the Virtual Run Here

Originally, my husband was going to run with me, but our daughter had an interview at the same time and needed a ride. She’s applied for a scholarship to study in Germany next year and this interview is the final step, so it’s a big deal, for all of us.

Still, I really wanted to do the memorial run for Sherry and I really didn’t want to do it alone. Not this one. When I told the handful of local runners I know about the run, none were able to join me.

I also wrote about the run in my column for the local paper, which ran this morning, and one of the local running clubs graciously added it to their weekly email, but knew it was a long shot that strangers would meet me at 8AM. (We’re in the Pacific time zone and the run was at 9AM MST.)

Thankfully, it didn’t take much to convince my boys to come, especially since I told them I’d buy them coffee afterward and we could take our dog Tippy. My boys are good sports. As we drove to the trail head I thought of Sherry’s husband and kids. In the midst of their grief I hope they get some comfort from the many runs scheduled today in her memory.

In response to the running club announcement, one other mother runner met us in the parking lot, with the bib for Sherry pinned to her front. The morning mist had turned to drizzle and the boys ran ahead with Tippy while Susan and I got acquainted. It turns out we run about the same pace and live close enough we may run together again. I’d like that.

As runners, we need to stick together. That happened today as people across the country and even around the globe put on their running or walking shoes and went out in honor of Sherry, in support of her grieving family and in solidarity against fear and violence. We will keep running. We must –for Sherry, for ourselves and for the next generation of runners who deserve to hit their stride on safe streets and trails.

About jill barville

To me, 3Rs= wRiting, Running and Reading. For aRithmetic use a calculator. I pound the keyboard to meet deadline, pound pavement to chase endorphins, then grab a book.
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.